

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 19, 2017 Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysical Journal Selects Poster Award Winners at Emerging Concepts in Ion Channel Biophysics Meeting

Rockville, MD—The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce winners of the *Biophysical Journal* Outstanding Poster Awards given at the "Emerging Concepts in Ion Channel Biophysics," meeting held October 10-12 in Mexico City, Mexico. The purpose of the Society's thematic meetings is to bring together researchers from diverse disciplines to discuss important biophysical topics that do not normally attend the same events. The poster winners were selected by a committee made up of top researchers including organizers of the meeting and editors of *Biophysical Journal*.

The student winners and their poster titles are:

Marc A. Dämgen, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Studying protein-lipid interactions of a pentameric ligand-gated ion channel in a synaptic membrane as the basis for targeting allosteric modulation sites for drug design

Leticia Stock, Universidad de Brasilia, Brazil

Molecular insights into Kv1.2 channel modulation by general anesthetic sevoflurane

The postdoctoral fellow winners and their poster titles are:

Marisol Sampedro Castañeda, UCL Institute of Neurology, United Kingdom Gating Modifier Toxins as Hits for Developing Blockers of Nav1.4 Sodium Channel Omega Currents: Domain I-specific Effect of Spider Toxin Hm-3

David Baez-Nieto, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Massachusetts

The T-type calcium channel CaV3.3 (CACNA11) and schizophrenia: a case study in what we can learn from human population genetics to understand structure-function relationships in ion channels

The winners were recognized at the close of the meeting and received a certificate recognizing their achievement and a monetary prize.

Biophysical Journal (BJ) is the leading international journal for original research in molecular, cellular, and systems biophysics. The journal publishes work in modern biophysics, which encompasses the study of biological structures with a focus on mechanisms at the molecular, cellular, and systems level using the concepts and methods of physics, chemistry, mathematics, engineering, and computational science.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

OFFICERS

President Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards Betsy Komives Early Careers Bert Tanner

Education Gina MacDonald

Finance Kalina Hristova Inclusion and Diversity

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Art Palmer Professional Opportunities for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs Edward Egelman

Publications Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich